SHINE is a look backward from the present to Salem's 1860 charter. In each year we have four sections: glimpses of what was happening around the world, a special event in Salem, what you see when you visit that site today, and other Salem events of interest that year.



Showing posts with label Hanley. Show all posts
Showing posts with label Hanley. Show all posts

Tuesday, July 13, 2010

Salem in 1983

World Events
  • President Reagan says the USSR is an "evil empire" and proposes a defense system "Star Wars". Meanwhile, the U.S. continues to support the Contra rebels in Nicaragua. 
  • Britain's Conservative government, lead by the controversial Margaret Thatcher, is re-elected by a landslide majority. (Her political views became unpopular during her 3rd term: she retired in 1990.)
  • The Reverend Jesse Jackson travels to Syria and secures the release of U. S. Navy Lt. Robert Goodman who was shot down over Lebanon in a bombing mission in retaliation for Beirut bombing of the Multinational Force. The pilot, Mark Lange, died when his parachute did not deploy.
  • M*A*S*H ends on TV having attracted the largest audience (125 million) for an episode. Motown celebrates its 25th anniversary with a TV special in which Michael Jackson introduces his Moonwalk.
  • Sally Ride becomes the first woman in space on Space Shuttle Challenger mission. The first African-American in space is Guion Bluford.
  • Vanessa Williams is the first African-American crowned Miss America.
  • Academy Awards "Terms of Endearment" (US), "Fanny and Alexander" (Sweden). Prize-winning Book: The Color Purple, Alice Walker.
      Interior of Governance Center, Confederated Tribes of Grand Ronde Community of Oregon

      In Salem
      Grand Ronde Governance Center, 34 miles west of Salem on highways 22/18 in Polk County, was formerly within the Grand Ronde Indian Reservation, established when several tribes of Native Americans were forced off their lands into this confinement. The southern Oregon tribes were marched 263 miles from their homelands to Grand Ronde during 33 days of February and March of 1856. In all, over 25 tribes from western Oregon, the Willamette Valley, the central Columbia River, the Cascade Range and the Umpqua and Rogue River valleys were removed to the reservation under seven treaties. The Bureau of Indian Affairs area office of the reservation was closed in 1925, but had been removed to various locations, either Siletz Agency, Chemawa Indian School or Portland from 1856 to 1954. The Confederated Tribes of the Grand Ronde Community of Oregon was originally governed by a council of tribal representative chiefs. On May 13, 1935, the corporate charter of the reservation was accepted by the BIA. The tribe and reservation was terminated August 13, 1954 when the Western Oregon Indian Termination Act (Public Law 588) revoked the tribe's sovereignty. Kathryn Harrison, who has spent almost 25 years on the council, recalls each tribal member receiving $35 and being told they were no longer a sovereign people. She remembers that larger tribes with resources could go to Washington, DC and testify that they didn't want to be terminated. However, it was many years until Grand Ronde members could take part in their own petition process that began in 1972. By that year, of their originally allotted 69,100 acres, only 2.5 acres remained, the tribal cemetery. Mrs. Harrison said the restoration was a justice issue that required educating government representatives, historical societies, and other tribes of the Grand Ronde's distinctive culture. The long years of tribal effort were rewarded when Congress restored the sovereignty of the Grand Ronde Confederated Tribes in 1983.

      When you visit
      In 1994 members voted to pursue gaming as a revenue source. A direct result of the successful Spirit Mountain Casino is the Spirit Mountain Community Fund established in 1997. Salem cultural and charitable enterprises benefit from part of the 6% of profits that are distributed in 11 Oregon counties. The casino entrance reminds visitors of the tribal culture; it features a representation of a tribal grandmother and child, Hattie Sands with her grandchild Gertrude (Hudson) Mercier. The Hall of Legends, leading to the lodge is lined with interpretive historical displays. "You have to keep telling your story", Mrs. Harrison says. "Otherwise, people will forget."
      The Governance Center of the restored Grand Ronde Community is located a few miles from the casino. The sunlit interior, seen above, features a historic canoe donated to the tribe by the Willamette Heritage Center. The design of the Council Chamber recalls traditional Native American council chambers. An impressive Veteran's Memorial to tribal members of the US military forces stands near the Governance Center.

      Our thanks to David G. Lewis, PhD, Cultural Resources Department Manager, Confederated Tribes of Grand Ronde for his editorial contributions.
      Other events
      • Ralph Hanley retires as City Manager and Russ Abolt, his assistant, is appointed.

      Chief Moore joins a neighborhood celebration
      • Our Police Department is one of the first in the nation to sponsor a local celebration of "National Night Out", an opportunity for a neighborhood start a special community project in their area with a goal to complete on National Night Out. Some areas have neighborhood clean-up, graffiti paint-overs, expand Neighborhood Watch or other neighborhood problems as their project. Some block parties sponsor food drives, neighbors bringing canned food donations.
      • Salem Electric provides a Member Assistance Program for 100 member families to receive help in paying their utility bills during an exceptionally cold winter.

      A view of Willamette University campus
      • Willamette University is selected by a U. S. News and World Report poll of college and university presidents as the best small comprehensive university in the West.
      • The rodeo, which had suffered from lack of attendance and low revenues, is discontinued the State Fair. From its original agricultural focus, the fair has grown into a large and diverse event, with something for everyone: livestock, floral, 4-H and home economics exhibits, country western and jazz concerts, commercial exhibits, art and photography displays, food from all cultures and, of course, the carnival.
      • The Salem Parkway is completed, allowing southbound 99E traffic to exit I-5 near the Lockhaven Drive/Chemawa Road in Keizer and connects with Broadway, Commercial or Front Streets in Salem. This is a by-pass of Portland Road, the traditional entrance to the city. This by-pass is near two local attractions: Salem-Keizer Volcanoes Stadium, hosting baseball games and the recently established Keizer Station, a complex of shopping venues.
      • The Salem Cultural and Tourism Advisory Board is established to advise the City Council on matters pertaining to the use of the transient occupancy tax, cultural activities and convention/tourism business in Salem. The board encourages development of a unified approach to the promotion of Salem; recommending an annual budget to implement such activities; and reviewing and making recommendations on the performance of contractors funded by the transient occupancy tax. The CTPAB budget for 2012-13 offered three types of funding for local cultural attractions. Operating Expense funding was awarded on a competitive basis to 10 venues: the Salem Multicultural Institute, Willamette Heritage Center, Salem Art Association, Willamette Art Center, A. C. Gilbert's Discovery Village, Hallie Ford Museum of Art, Elsinore Theatre, Deepwood Estate, Riverfront Carousel and Grand Theater. Three Capital Improvement projects were evaluated and awarded according to need. Twenty-one Special Event requests were also partially funded according to requests. This funding is directed both toward encouraging tourism and offering cultural opportunities for Salem residents.

      Tuesday, July 6, 2010

      Salem in 1978

      World Events
      • Camp David Accords further peace talks concerning Israel and Palestine. Anwar Sadat and Menachem Begin earn the Nobel Peace Prize.
      • The Holy Crown of Hungary is returned to Hungary from U.S. where it has been held since World War II.
      • Pope John Paul I dies after only 33 days of papacy. John Paul II succeeds in "Year of Three Popes" since 1605. He is the first Polish pope.
      • President Carter postpones production of neutron bomb which kills people but leaves buildings intact. The U.S. Senate votes to turns the Panama Canal over to Panamanian control on December 31, 1999.
      • First "test-tube" baby born, Louise Joy Brown of Bristol, England.
      • In San Francisco, Mayor George Moscone and City Supervisor Harvey Milk are assassinated. Diane Feinstein becomes the first female mayor. The rainbow flag of LGBT movement flies in San Francisco's Gay Freedom Day Parade.
      • Two million citizens in Iran demonstrate against the Shah.
      • Garfield appears as a comic. Superman is released as a movie.
      • The Academy Awards: "The Deer Hunter" (US),"Get Out Your Handkerchiefs (France). Prize-winning Books: Blood Tie, Mary Lee Settle and Elbow Room, James Alan McPherson.
      In Salem
      In our downtown, Urban Renewal is attempting to accommodate customers of the 1970s who need places to park their cars. Salem's business community of a century before had been built for residents who lived close enough to walk from their homes to shops and professional appointments, or lived in the upper floors of downtown buildings. However, the growth of the city had relocated families into neighborhoods that required automobile transportation. Along the east side of Commercial Street, the half-block south of the Chemeketa Street, had already been torn down for a Lipman and Wolfe (Liberty Plaza) surface parking lot quite a while before this Chemeketa Parkade came onto the scene. Here is a view looking west between High and Liberty Streets when it was almost complete. To the right of this photograph is Penney's and to the left is the First National/Wells Fargo Bank building.
      In another photograph of this year, a sign identifies basic information about the building: "This four level, 720 space parking structure will open by November 15, 1978 for free shopper parking. After January 1, 1979, leased space on the top level only will be available for employee parking. Approximately 30,000 square feet of ground floor commercial space will be available upon total completion of the structure by March 15, 1979. This project is financed from a portion of the $6.8 million dollar tax allocation bond issue approved by City voters in March 1977. Total construction cost is $3,353,000.

      When you visit


      This structure in the photograph at the top of this page is now very familiar. Several other parkades, sky-bridges and new stores were established in the next eight years until the downtown was complete with the conveniences and appearance it has today.
      Unfortunately, historic buildings were lost, or a significant portion was demolished. An example of alteration is the original Eldridge Block on Commercial Street, above, with the same beautiful external decorations as the present Greenbaum's Quilted Forest. The building extended to Chemeketa Street (in this photograph we are looking at the Commercial Street side of the parking structure at the top of the page). It housed the Barnes Cash Store (on the corner) and Fry's Drug Store (next door) established by prominent Salem families of the early 1900s. E. T. Barnes was the proprietor of the Cash Store on the southeast corner of Commercial and Chemeketa streets. Daniel Fry not only owned the Drug Store, adjacent to the Cash Store, but purchased (1909) and developed the hill south of Pringle Creek extending to Leslie Street, between High and Church streets. At the crown of the hill was the 1858 Showalter Smith house (now the Smith-Fry House), which became the Fry family home.
      Looking forward, an interesting new element of downtown life as the 21st century begins its second decade, is that the city is now encouraging renovation and construction that will bring people back into the core of the city to live as well as work. Several condos have been built within a few blocks of the business and entertainment center and renovation of older buildings have offered apartments on the upper floors. A small grocery store was established in the Bishop Building. Perhaps it will once again be a city where people walk (or bicycle) to work or just to enjoy downtown amenities.
      During these years of urban change, the city established the Downtown Development Board (1976). In 1979, the Pringle Creek Project Advisory Committee was merged into it and, in 2005, the Parking Advisory Board. This joint Downtown Advisory Board advises the Urban Renewal Agency Board on matters related to urban renewal and tax increment fund allocations, and advises the City Council on matters related to the Downtown Parking District and the Parking Fund. Meetings are generally held the fourth Thursday of each month at noon.

      Other events
      • Bob Moore, longtime City Manager, retires and the fifth, Ralph Hanley, is appointed. He develops an urban growth management system that is approved by City Council in 1979.
      • The Thomas Kay Mill that became Mission Mill has a very different aspect this year. The renovation included completely rebuilding the Dye House and other structures that had utilized the waterpower of the millrace. The mill turbine is refurbished to provide power. This work continued into 1983 under the direction of Anthony Reid. The Dye House has become an attractive small venue for conducting public programs and meetings that take place in the mill buildings, now Willamette Heritage Center.
      •  
      • This year, Bob Koval received a CETA grant and took a series of several hundred photographs of historic Salem homes, chosen by his own idea of what was interesting, unique or of historical significance. Some are still in existence, like the Pade House on 15th Street (above). Others have been relocated, like the Carleton Smith House (now on Cannon Street). A few have been demolished, like the charming Queen Anne cottage on 4th Street (now the site of Broadway Town Square). This collection of house photographs is invaluable to historians and researchers. We are fortunate that volunteers at the Salem Public Library, under the direction of Don Christenson, have carefully scanned each photographed, supplied a caption and added it to the Oregon Historic Photograph Collections.
      • At this time, Salem school district included 5 high schools and 38 elementary schools. The 1915 McKinley School gained an additional music room/gym this year. A library was added in 1980. This historic school is located in the SCAN neighborhood and is a few blocks south of Bush Pasture Park.